Tema: Biru dan Hijau Tema: Biru dan Hijau Tema: Merah Tema: Hijau
Latar Belakang: 1 Latar Belakang: 2 Latar Belakang: 3 


Council to assess safety features in public areas, address shortcomings
Tarikh : 15 Aug 2019  Sumber Berita: The Borneo Post


Lating (centre) addresses the press conference after receiving his duty as Walikota Kapit recently. Flanking him are former walikota Dato Philimon Nuing (right) and KDC secretary Jabang Juntan.


KAPIT: Kapit District Council (KDC) has set up a taskforce to assess current safety features in public areas here, and to come up with remedial action to address any shortcomings.

Walikota Kapit Lating Minggang said the taskforce, comprising KDC councillors, will cover not only Kapit, but also Belaga, Song and Sungai Asap.

“The taskforce will carry out site surveys and verifications, and the findings and recommendations will be deliberated on prior to being endorsed by the main committee during KDC’s full council meeting, scheduled for Aug 27,” he said in a press conference here recently after officially receiving his duty as Walikota.

Lating added that some preliminary safety measures have already been implemented at the night market here, following a recent road accident which claimed the life of a seven-year-old girl and injured two other people.

Members of the taskforce committee covering Kapit are Councillor Jenny Yu Si Geok as chairperson, deputy chairperson Councillor Martin Bilun, Councillor Ballin Jampung, Councillor Wong Hau Ching and Councillor Liew Hui Hua.

For Belaga, the committee is made up of Councillor Daniel Levoh (chairperson), Councillor Bete Lahang, Councillor Abu Talip, Councillor Ugu Matu and Councillor Neo Kek Seng, whereas the Sungai Asap committee comprises Councillor Tirah Lawai @ Liwan (chairperson), Councillor Eda Ibon, Councillor Louis Nyagong Lenjau and Councillor Janong Begelin.

The Merit committee consists of Councillor Aman Yakow (chairperson) and Councillor Ugu Matu, while the Song committee is made up of Councillor Zully Ambrose Blikau (chairperson), Councillor Kena Gendang, Councillor Francis Bakat and Councillor Rose Demon Simpang.